Meet Our Scientific Advisory Board

Brian A. Walker, PhD

Indiana School of Medicine

Dr. Walker is currently at Indiana University where he holds the Chair for the Daniel and Lori Efroymson Professor of Oncology and is also the SWOG Myeloma Committee Chair of Translational Medicine. Most of his work has revolved around utilizing primary patient material with a range of techniques including gene expression and mapping arrays to next generation sequencing technologies to identify the genetic determinants that can be used to sub-classify myeloma.  These determinants include common copy number abnormalities, somatic mutations and gene expression profiles which can be used to risk stratify patients according to biological criteria, which in turn can determine the prognosis of the patient. His lab currently employs single-cell technologies, mouse models, and epigenomics to determine the impact and mechanism of action of these abnormalities that drive myeloma pathogenesis.